posted in Car Accidents on August 13, 2022
It is that time of year again, a time when the kids are headed back to school. This is also when adults need to be educated on bus stop safety for both drivers and pedestrians.
According to the National Safety Council (NSC), nearly 70 percent of deaths in school bus-related crashes from 2011 to 2020 were people in vehicles outside the school bus, 16 percent were pedestrians, and about 5 percent were school bus passengers.
While school buses are among the most regulated vehicles on the nation’s roads to prevent crashes and injuries, motorists still fail to abide by the stop-arm laws in place in each state, such as Nevada. It only hinders children’s safety.
Here are a few rules to remember to protect them:
This means drivers need to slow down. Yellow flashing lights signal that the bus is also slowing down and getting ready to stop. It also means there are students, maybe with their parents nearby, waiting on the side of the road to be picked up in the mornings or preparing to get off the bus in the afternoons.
As with any red traffic light, this means stop, so motorists should do so at least 20 feet behind the bus or in front of the bus if they are facing the bus in oncoming traffic. They should then remain stopped until the red lights stop flashing, the extended stop-arm is up, and the bus starts moving.
Even if there are no red or yellow flashing lights on a school bus, drivers should be aware and watch out for children when they back out of the driveway, through a neighborhood, and in school zones on school days in the mornings for arrival and afternoons for dismissal.
Illegally passing a school bus is a misdemeanor and punishable by fines or possible license suspension. Specific punishments for a first-time offense are:
Only when a driver is traveling in the opposite direction of the school bus and the road has a physical barrier separating traffic, like a median or raised curb, can they legally pass a stopped school bus with flashing red lights.
Typical defense strategies that attorneys may take to reduce the charges for a driver who fails to stop for a school bus with flashing red lights include:
Parents should make sure their kids understand bus safety and ensure that they are standing at the bus stop at least five minutes before the bus is supposed to arrive to avoid missteps in any safety measures.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) suggests that children follow the SAFE acronym as a reminder, which is to:
For parents with students who walk to school, these young pedestrians should follow these safety tips while en route:
Drivers also need to keep an eye out for back-to-school pedestrians walking along the road in the mornings and afternoons. For instance:
The Nevada Department of Transportation advises everyone in the state to follow precautions when returning to school, regardless of the type of transportation they are taking to get to school, whether by bus, car, scooter, bicycle, or foot.
For families with a student riding a bicycle to school, here are ways to keep their ride to school safe:
If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Nevada, you need a team of experienced Nevada car accident lawyers on your side. Our team has a proven track record of success in helping clients get the compensation they deserve. Contact us today for a free consultation.
CALL US 24/7