How Long Do I Have to Report a Car Accident in Nevada?
Last Updated on September 27,2023
Following a car crash, it is not only the accident that can significantly impact your life. But the actions you take after this incident can also play a big part in your recovery and the legal remedies you have.
Among the many considerations after a car crash, understanding the legal nuances is crucial. For instance, being aware of the dangers associated with DUIs in Vegas can help you navigate potential pitfalls. Additionally, distinguishing between ordinary and gross negligence can be pivotal in understanding your rights and responsibilities. Furthermore, for motorcyclists, it’s essential to be informed about the legality of lane-splitting in Nevada, as it can influence post-accident procedures.
To better explain what these actions entail, we have created this blog post. In it, we will go over some of the obligations you have when it comes to reporting a car accident in Nevada and what happens if you fail to meet these obligations.
Notifying the Police Following a Car Accident
According to Nevada’s regulations, if you are involved in a car crash in which someone is injured or killed, you need to notify the police or the Nevada Highway Patrol (NHP) as soon as possible. To do this, you can either call 911, 311, or the NHP at *647.
However, if highway patrol or a police officer is already at the scene, or you are too injured from the accident, you will not be required to make this call. Additionally, if an accident causes no injuries and the property damages are under $750, the police also do not need to be contacted.
Notifying the DMV of the Car Accident
In addition, after your car accident, you must also submit a Traffic Accident Report to the DMV within ten days of the accident, if:
- A person is injured or killed, or
- It appears that there is $750 or more in damage to any vehicle or property
However, if a police officer submits an accident report that includes the driver’s liability insurance information and the driver’s contact number, you will not need to report the accident to the DMV. But, because it is not always clear what is contained in a police report, it may be in your best interest to still submit the DMV report to ensure all your bases are covered.
If You Fail To Report the Accident
If a person involved in an accident fails to report the crash as required by law to do so, they can face a driver’s license suspension for one year. Yet, this suspension period can be called off early, if:
- The motorist finally files their crash report, or
- The motorist produces evidence that their failure to report the incident was not willful
Additionally, if a person provides false information in a crash report, they can be facing prosecution for a gross misdemeanour, regardless if this false information is provided electronically, verbally, or in written form.
Notifying the Insurance Company of the Car Accident
Many car insurance companies in Nevada also require that those involved in a car crash notify them and file a car insurance claim, especially if multiple automobiles are involved. Yet, most motorists often decide not to tell their insurance company when they hit a stationary object or nobody is injured in the accident. However, this can be detrimental to their claim. Why? Because if a police report is created regardless of this situation or if anyone is slightly injured, not reporting the incident can impact the insurer’s obligation and the coverage under the policy.
Filing a Legal Claim — The Maximum Amount of Time You Have
Following an accident, it is also important to note that there are legal filing deadlines, referred to as the statute of limitations, that individuals with a legal claim need to meet.
Each state has its own statute of limitations laws, which mandate the maximum amount of time a person has to file a lawsuit following an alleged offence. If these individuals do not file their claim within that time period, they can be barred from collecting compensation for their injuries and losses.
In Nevada, the statute of limitations to file a personal injury claim following a car crash is two years from the accident date. However, there are often exceptions to this rule that can impact this filing period by extending or shortening these deadlines. For these reasons, you shouldn’t wait to get legal help. Instead, you need to reach out to an experienced motor vehicle accident lawyer as soon as possible. These attorneys can review your case, determine the maximum amount of time you have to file your claim and make sure your legal motions are adequately prepared and filed before time expires.
Plus, just because you may have years to file a claim, it is not advisable to do so. This is because the longer you wait to pursue legal action, the higher the risk is of evidence disappearing, memories of the incident fading, and witnesses no longer being able to testify — factors that can impact your case.
Get the Legal Help You Need — Reach Out to an Experienced Nevada Car Accident Lawyer Today
To have a successful legal claim following a car crash, you need to be able to provide solid legal arguments and detailed evidence proving fault and damages. However, following a car accident, this is probably the last thing on your mind. Fortunately, when you retain an experienced Nevada car crash lawyer, you will not have to stress about tackling this legal battle alone. These lawyers can:
- Go over your case in detail, evaluate your claim, and figure out what legal options you have.
- Investigate the accident and gather the evidence required to show what happened and who was responsible for your injuries.
- Handle all the negotiations with the insurance company to secure the just settlement you need.
- Take your case to trial, if required, and fight for the damages you deserve.
For these reasons, if a car accident disrupts your life or the life of a loved one, do not wait any longer to get the legal help you need. Instead, reach out to a skilled Nevada car accident attorney today for a free case evaluation and let these lawyers show you how they can fight for the justice you are entitled to.
At Gina Corena & Associates, we value your needs and what best serves your interests. Our results and our service to our clients speak about the trust and value we provide to them at this difficult stage. Backed with years of experience and trust, we know the necessities for your case. If you have any query or cannot find what you are looking for, visit our website, and check out other information related to car accidents and our services. We can help – Contact us today!