5 Important Changes to Nevada Driving Laws in 2022
Last Updated on September 08,2023
When driving laws change in Nevada, it is important everyone on the road understands the impact of those changes. In some cases, you may have to modify your driving, and in other cases, the changes in the law may impact you if you are involved in an accident on Nevada roadways. Here are five changes to Nevada driving laws which went into effect in 2022 which may impact your rights.
Emergency Vehicle Move-Over Rules Amended
Nevada drivers have been required to slow down when they encounter an accident of any type for many years. These rules have been known as “Nevada’s move-over laws (NRS 484B.607)” Drivers who saw police cars, ambulances, or fire apparatus at the scene of an accident were also required to move over to prevent injuries to rescue workers. However, effective in 2020, emergency vehicles now include tow trucks. Up until Senate Bill 395 was implemented, tow trucks were required to use amber lights. With the new bill, tow trucks are now allowed to use blue lights on their vehicles so drivers on Nevada roadways understood they were subject to the same laws as police vehicles or other rescue workers. It is worth noting the blue lights on tow trucks may not be flashing like a police vehicle, instead they are simply a blue light versus amber flashing lights.
This is good news for people who are involved in a traffic accident because it adds an additional layer of protection which can help keep you safe and protect you from potentially suffering an additional injury after an auto accident.
Trick Driving Violations Implemented
Trick driving is now considered a reckless driving violation under 2020 Nevada driving laws. Trick driving involves travelling at high rates of speed and in some cases, creating a video of a stunt while traveling on Nevada roadways. Unfortunately, these types of stunts can result in serious injury to other drivers on the roadway.
Violations have serious consequences for drivers who are found guilty of this type of activity. Some of the penalties may include losing access to the vehicle involved for up to 30 days, requirement to perform community service, fines of up to $1,000, and jail time.
Should you be a victim of an auto accident involving a trick driving stunt, you should be aware these drivers are considered negligent and you may have the basis to file a personal injury lawsuit. You can learn more about this violation by reading the text of Nevada’s AB201.
New Helmet Requirements
Between 2012 and 2016, more than 1,000 people suffered serious injuries in motorcycle crashes on Nevada roadways. Nevada has had helmet laws on the books since 1972, which require operators to wear not just protective helmets but protective eye gear as well. Senate Bill 408 expanded the requirement for helmets to include mopeds and trimobiles. Failure to wear the proper protective gear is now considered a misdemeanor violation. The only exception to this is those who are operating a three-wheeled vehicle which has a “shell’ which means the driver is inside the vehicle versus on a saddle-style seat.
Operators who violate these rules will be subject to a misdemeanor charge. Factually, the added protections can help keep you safe from more serious injury if you are involved in a car accident on Las Vegas roadways.
Reckless Driving and Unauthorized Speed Contest Rules
NRS 484B.653 contains language which makes it illegal for drivers to operate a vehicle at dangerous speeds on Nevada roadways. While this provision has often prevented drivers from this type of behavior on roadways, in some instances, it has increased this type of activity in parking lots, roadways in gated communities, and in parking garages. When Assembly Bill 403 went into effect, the rules pertaining to reckless driving were updated to include “public areas” including roadways in any area which were publicly accessible, regardless of how “out of the way” they might be.
Penalties for reckless driving include the operator facing up to six months of prison time, since they are now facing misdemeanor charges for their wanton behavior. Should a driver be responsible for the death of another person because of this type of behavior, they could be facing up to a year in jail, and other penalties.
New Amendments to Moving Violation Fines
We all know moving violations in Nevada can be costly. Speeding costs can ruin you financially. Assuming you do not have a history of speeding violations on Nevada roadways, Assembly Bill 434 Section 28 provides some relief. Specifically, those drivers who do not have a history of violation speed rules will now pay $20 per mile over the speed limit and assuming the fine is paid before the due date, drivers can have this moving violation reclassified as a non-moving violation.
This change to the law is good for those drivers who typically are good about following speed limit rules because it can prevent you from getting costly demerits on your driving record. Keep in mind, since you are only allowed to accumulate 12 demerits in a 12 month period without risking the loss of your driving privileges, this change could be very positive.
Every driver on Nevada roadways needs to understand the law and understand how changes in the law impact them. Some of these laws make it easier for victims of car accidents to show a driver was negligent. Keep in mind, if you suffer serious injury in a car accident on Las Vegas roadways due to the negligence of another driver, you may have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit. Nevada’s required auto insurance has a $25,000 minimum for personal injury but if you suffer a serious injury, this may not be sufficient to cover your losses. You may be able to recover compensation for time lost from work, injuries you suffered in an accident, prescription medications or devices, and other costs associated with your recovery. Make sure you know your rights after a car accident and contact the team of Las Vegas car accident lawyers at Gina Corena & Associates for a free consultation.